Do You Have Gluten Sensitivity? This Wheat Might Be for You!
If you’re on a gluten-free diet, then we might have some good news! Scientists have figured out a way to create a type of wheat that can be eaten safely by people with gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance, and celiac disease.
This wheat variety was created by researchers from Washington State University and Clemson University joined by various partner institutions in Chile, China, and France. But wait! There’s more good news! That same type of wheat can also fight the celiac disease when ingested, according to the scientists who published their results published in the January issue of Functional and Integrative Genomics.
How is gluten sensitivity alleviated?
The new wheat variety has built-in enzymes which have the special talent of breaking down gluten proteins in the body which cause disease. The researchers introduced new DNA into the wheat and added the two enzymes. The source of these enzymes? Barley, another grain that contains gluten. The possible “cure” for your gluten sensitivity and celiac disease was completed by one final ingredient: the bacteria Flavobacterium meningosepticum, which breaks down gluten in your digestive tract.
Which means that if you miss having bread or a million excellent varieties of pasta, then you might have a chance to enjoy it again, without the overwhelming stress to your body.
“By packing the remedy to wheat allergies and gluten intolerance right into the grain, we’re giving consumers a simpler, lower-cost therapy (…) We’re also reducing the danger from cross-contamination with regular wheat, as the enzymes in our wheat will break down that gluten as well,” said Sachin Rustgi, assistant professor of molecular breeding at Clemson University.
So when can we eat it?
This is all wonderful news to the 18 million Americans who have a gluten sensitivity or intolerance and the 2 million people who suffer from celiac disease. But is it ready for eating yet? No, not yet. The good enzymes in the wheat are not stable in heat, which means that they can’t really be cooked and turned into bread or pasta. It’s a process, but this news is also a bit of hope!